this site the web

Wednesday, March 01, 2017

Prabhas wins Nandi Award - Best Actor for Mirchi

After a long delay, the Andhra Pradesh Government announced the Nandi Awards for the year 2012 and 2013 today and the best news is that Prabhas won the Best Actor award for Mirchi. 

Unlike the popular commercial awards like IIFA, Filmfare and SIIMA which are often accused of favouritism and crass commercialness, the Nandi Awards are awarded by the State Government and is not based on public voting and thus carry more credibility. 

Mirchi also won four other awards - Best Film (2013), Best Debutante Director for Koratala Siva, Best Villain for Sampath Raj and Best Art Director for A.S.Prakash. 

The Nandi awards are given in several categories to appreciate the best of talents in Telugu cinema, Telugu theatre and Telugu Television. The winners get the Nandi memorabilia (a granite bull) along with certificates and cash prize. The first Nandi award was given in 1964. 

These awards were delayed due to the division of old Andhra Pradesh into two states. While the Andhra Pradesh government has decided to continue with the Nandi Awards, the newly formed Telangana is likely to come up with separate awards.


Bookmark and Share

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.


Prabhas Orkut Community

Check out our Prabhas Community in Orkut for all the latest and lots of info about Prabhas

Follow me